final Bristol Cup race results and driver standings

Results and standings for the Bristol race: Chris Buescher finished the first round of the NASCAR Cup Series playoffs on Saturday at Bristol Motor Speedway, snapping a winless skid of 222 races.

Brad Keselowski earned his first championship as a team owner after joining Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing this year.

Since Ricky Stenhouse Jr. drove the team to victory on July 1, 2017 at Daytona International Speedway, the No. 17 Ford's victory was its first.

Buescher won the race for the first time since winning at Pocono Raceway on August 1, 2016, and he also became the 19th Cup Series champion of the year, tying the mark for the modern era set in 2001.

The No. 17 Ford driver set a record by taking the lead for a record-breaking 169 of the 500 laps to defeat Chase Elliott by 0.458 seconds (including the last 61).

In NASCAR's playoff era, which began in 2004, this is the first instance of non-playoff drivers winning three successive races.

share if you like story